Husqvarna star Brett dominates home KZN double header

KZN local Brett Swanepoel delivered a stunning double victory to take the 2020 South African Cross Country Motorcycle Championship at the two-round Mid-Illovo finale over the weekend.

Pepson Plastics Husqvarna 250cc OR2 rider Swanepoel took overall victory on Saturday, before repeating the feat on Sunday. He came home a minute and a half clear of KZN compatriot Bradley Cox’s 200cc OR3 Brother Leader Tread KTM on Saturday. Another OR2 lad Davin Cocker was third on his Pepson Husqvarna.

Charan Moore took Moto1 honours on a Brother Leader Tread KTM and Matthew Wilson’s Husqvarna won the High School race. KTM men Wade Blaauw took Seniors and Wayne Farmer was the Masters winner. In Junior interprovincial action, Murray Lloyd won Saturday’s under-13 85cc race from Thomas Scales and Cobus Bester, while Murray Smith took the under-11 65cc win.

Sunday’s finale counted as a separate national championship round. Swanepoel upped the ante to take an even more convincing overall victory to wrap up the championship in imperious style. His OR2 rival Jarryd Coetzee came home second, over two minutes behind. OR3 winner Bradley Cox was third to wrap up that class title, ahead of open class OR1 winner Calvin Hume.

OR3 runner-up Cocker was next home from OR2 trio Ian Rall’s Fast KTM, Taki Bogiages on a Pepson Motul Husqvarna and and Gareth Cole. Charan Moore followed next, he was second in class to wrap up the OR1 title. Matthew Wilson once again took High School, as did Wade Blaauw Seniors and Wayne Farmer Masters honours. MCA Husqvarna lad Cobus Bester took the 85cc win from Thomas Scales and Guy Henderson, while Murray Smith took the 65cc double.

So Brett Swanepoel took the overall title from Jarryd Coetzee. Bradley Cox, Charan Moore and Davin Cocker. Swanepoel is OR2 champion, Cox took the OR3 title and Moore is the 2020 SA OR1 champion. Matthew Wilson took the High School title, while Wade Blaauw and Wayne Farmer are the respective 2020 SA Senior and Masters champions.

Issued on behalf of SA Cross Country Moto

Leave a Reply