Many would argue that racing in the wet distracts from the quality of racing and inevitably sees the number of entries shrink by the time the flag drops.

Fortunately there are those who appreciate the fact that some simply rise to the occasion, sheer ability replaces all benefits gained by deep pockets and the display on track provides a completely new dimension on each category contested.

Just ask veteran driver, constructor and now ace spectator Dave Hawkins opinion from the Turn 3 crows nest! Indeed it was great to see spectators return to Killarney and somehow their presence motivated competitors to deliver quite a show in extremely challenging conditions which ranged from extremely cold and wet to almost bone dry and hot. Some getting all four in a single heat!

Powersport Motorcycles 1x7Lap and 1×8 Lap  
Slade van Niekerk served notice of his intent by placing his Project Sixty60 Kawasaki ER650 firmly on pole position with a time of 1min21:373 (144.534km/h). Jason Linekar 1.76 seconds slower aboard his RST Kawasaki Ninja 650.

Heat one was restricted to seven laps and it was Slade van Niekerk who passed the chequered flag first, 11.209 seconds ahead of Jason Linekar and Rob de Vos claiming third spot on his The Mag Workshop Kawasaki ER650. Lance Jonas fourth on his Samurai Racing Suzuki SV650 with Tristin Pienaar fifth aboard the Powersport 300 class winning KTM RC 390. The top six completed by Nicholas Hutchings aboard HSC Racing KTM RC 390.

Heat two went the full eight laps and this time Slade van Niekerk made it home by a scant 0.168 seconds from an extremely determined Jason Linekar whilst Lance Jonas slotted into a distant third with Adrian Solomon fourth aboard Powersport 300 class winning RST Kawasaki Ninja 300, Gareth Lindemann fifth aboard his GM Contractors Yamaha R3 and Nicholas Hutchings sixth on his HSC Racing KTM RC 390.

Overall Slade van Niekerk claimed first from Jason Linekar with Lance Jonas third and Nicholas Hutchings fourth. Tristin Pienaar fifth and Mitch Robinson sixth.

MC PSP 650 overall order was Slade van Niekerk (Project Sixty60 Kawasaki ER650), Jason Linaker (RST Kawasaki Ninja 650), Lance Jonas Sumarai Racing Suzuki SV650), Rob de Vos (The Mag Workshop Kawasaki ER6) and Edward Rolstone (Kawasaki ER6N).

MC PSP 300 Nicholas Hutchings (HSC Racing KTM RC390) beat Tristin Pienaar KTM RC390), Mitch Robinson (The Mag Workshop Kawasaki Ninja 300), Gareth Lindemann (GM Contractors Yamaha R3), Braddon Hutchings (HSC Racing KTM RC390) and Kyle Hallick (Kawasaki Ninja 300).

Leave a Reply