What South African National Motocross Round 3 Report
Where Phakisa Freeway, Welkom, Free State
When Saturday 22 May 2021
Community South Africa National

National championship delivers spectacular Phakisa action

The Cannabis Energy Drink and TRP Distributors South African National Motocross Championship delivered dynamite of a different kind as the series stunned at Free State mining town Welkom’s Phakisa Freeway with spectacular racing on Saturday. A fair blend of domination, close racing and surprise results also served to shake the championship chase up in several classes.

Double championship leader in both top classes heading to Welkom, Tristan Purdon and his Red Bull KTM picked up where he left off with another clean sweep in open class MX1 with a couple of wins over David Goosen’s Rockstar Energy Drink Husqvarna. Third man, Yamaha lad Jesse Wright and Cameron Durow in fourth on a KTM shared out the motos’ seconds and thirds to pip Anthony Raynard’s Yamaha to fifth with KTM men, Cross Country star Bradley Cox, Johan Vogelsang, Royce Griffin and Marco de Vrye next up.

There was a shake-up in Moto 250cc Moto2, where Purdon’s Red Bull KTM teammate Cameron Durow and David Goosen’s Rockstar Husqvarna shared out the wins. Purdon was second in the first moto and third in the second to minimise his rivals’ points gains and hold on to that championship leaders’ red plate too. Yamaha trio, champion Anthony Raynard and Dalton Venter, Mark Carty’s KTM, Christiaan Celliers on a Yamaha and Liam Gilchrist on a Husqvqrna followed.

There was another turn up for the books when Dwayne Kleynhans came out with all guns blazing to conquer MX3 as he toppled the so far dominant Grant Frerichs’ Yamaha from his Over-30s perch. Calvin Gloster ended up third for the day after first race third man Ryan Frerichs did not finish the second moto. Yamaha man Ian Topliss Yamaha made no mistakes as he romped to an over-40s double over Honda duo Bruce Viljoen and Phillip Harker and Byron Linaker’s Yamaha.

The battle of the season however has to be the South African Ladies Motocross title fight where Leah Heygate’s KTM and runaway reigning champion Kayla Raaff on a Kawasaki remain tied on points. They once again shared out the first and second places in Welkom. De Lima sisters Jadene and Cheyenne were next up ahead of Kawasaki lass Dakota Grobbellaar.

Jonathan Mlimi’s KTM and the resurgent Leonard du Toit’s similar machine shared the 125cc High School race wins, with Stav Orland third after ending second in both heats. So Mlimi took the day from du Toit and Orland tied in second overall. Ethan Hoffman’s Yamaha came home third from Callan Merrick Broskie, Lukas Venter and Nathan Mayberry’s Yamahas as as championship leader Mlimi’s title rivals Miguel de Waal and Luke Grundy endured days to forget.

Husqvarna duo Jordan van Wyk and maiden class winner in heat 1, Neil van der Vyver shared out the 85cc Pro Mini race wins ahead of Gas Gas rider Emmanuel Bako, KTM trio Trey Cox, Alon Orland and Wiaan du Plooy, to keep that title race ultra close. KTM kid Tyler Petersen was meanwhile unstoppable in 85cc Junior as he left Welkom in that championship lead as Jake van Schoor kept Matthew Correia in third. KTM riders Trent Valsecchi, Andrew Venter and Tyla Sheppard were next up.

Blade Tilley made no mistakes aboard his Gas Gas as he took a dominant 65cc Juniors double ahead of Blake Frost’s KTM and Aiden Henley’s Yamahas, Nicol Smit and Sven Larsen’s Husqvarnas and Trent Valsecchi on a KTM. Second in the first race and championship leader heading to the Free State, Husqvarna lad Jack Pullen failed to finish the second race to hand Tilley the red plate heading to round 4.

Trenton Kretzmann however extended his South African Motocross kindergarten 50cc MX title advantage with a double win on his Husqvarna. He beat Brody Bircher’s KTM, Cobra rider Maxwell Fourie, KTM kids Aiden Retief and Casper van Zyl and Rayden Woolls’ Gas Gas. Husqvarna trio Luke van As, Lou Rademeyer and Josh Peters-Newman, and Ross Mackenzie’s KTM rounded out the baby MX top ten.

The Cannabis Energy Drink and TRP Distributors backed South African National Motocross Championship heads to new ground for the forthcoming fourth round when it heads to the Legends Motocross Park in Pretoria for the first time for a midwinter appointment on Saturday 3 July.

The 2021 South African National Motocross Championship is proudly presented by Motorsport South Africa in partnership with Cannabis Energy Drink, TRP Distributors, Prepsol, Bridgestone, Thor, Gaerne, FMF, Pro Taper, 100%, Fly Racing, Ogio, Bandit Graffix and the Race Shop.

Issued on behalf of SA Motocross

Leave a Reply