What South African National Motocross Round 2 Report
Where Rover, Gqebehra, EP
When Saturday 3 April 2021
Community South Africa National

Local Cathcart EP hero in charge after second round

Eastern Province home hero Tristan Purdon and his Red Bull KTM stamped authority on the second round of the Cannabis Energy Drink & TRP Distributors South African National Motocross Championship at the Rover Raceway in Port Elizabeth Saturday. The Cathcart rider extended his championship advantage in both the MX1 and MX2 championships in a great, if again a little controversial day’s racing at Gqebehra.

Purdon was untouchable in open class MX1, where he raced to a double victory over David Goosen’s Rockstar Energy Drink Husqvarna, and Anthony Raynard’s Tinswalo Yamaha each time. The impressive Royce Griffin was fourth after a couple of fifth places on the day on his Husqvarna to emerge on top of a mid-pack dice with Seth van den Abeele’s similar machine, Yamaha rider Jesse Wright and Cross Country star Bradley Cox on a KTM.

Purdon had something to think about in 250cc MX2 when Camden McLellan popped home from his international duties to stir up the pot. Camden took the first heat before Purdon struck back to take heat 2. Purdon’s Red Bull KTM teammate Cameron Durow took a couple of thirds in the motos to wind up on the podium ahead of David Goosen’s Rockstar Husqvarna, Anthony Raynard’s Tinswalo Yamaha and Keegan Hickson-Mahony’s Yamaha.

Over 30s man Grant Frerichs’ Yamaha held over 40s man Ian Topliss’ similar machine off for MX3 honours as the two extended their advantages in those age groups. Dwayne Kleynhans’ KTM and Ryan Frerichs on a Yamaha took the Senior seconds and thirds while Jaco Smit on a KTM and Bruce Viljoen’s Honda shared the second and third places in Masters.

Kayla Raaff and her Kawasaki and KTM lass Leah Heygate once again shared out the Ladies Motocross wins to leave Port Elizabeth tied on championship points ahead of Husqvarna mounted de Lima sisters Jadene and Cheyenne.

The drama was in the junior classes, starting in 125cc High School, where a third and a second were enough for Stav Orland’s KTM to take the win for the day from Barend du Toit, who rode in second and fourth and Miguel de Waal sixth and a third. That after race 1 winner Ethan Hoffman’s Yamaha retired from race 2 and race 1 winner Jonathan Mlimi’s KTM was excluded from race 1 on a yellow flag transgression. Husqvarna duo Luke Grundy and Kyle Townsend fought it out for fourth and fifth with Blake Young’s KTM sixth overall.

A second in race 2 versus KTM rider Emmanuel Bako’s first race third was enough in 85cc Pro Mini win for Jordan van Wyk’s Husqvarna to take the day as each won the other Pro Mini motos. Trey Cox’s KTM was third with a third and a second ahead of Alon Orland’s KTM and Husqvarna duo Ryan Adler and Liam Botha Pro Mini. KTM kid Andrea Mynhardt took an 85cc Junior double from second in race 1 Tyler Petersen’s Husqvarna, double third-placed Matthew Correia’s KTM, second race second kid Andrew Venter and Ashton Martin’s KTMs.

The 65cc Junior action was once again controversial as a number of riders including top three Jack Pullen, Blake Frost and Aiden Henley were excluded from race 1. That allowed Nicol Smit’s Husqvarna to take the day’s win from Jake van Schoor, Alex Cooper’s Husqvarna and Evan Frost on a KTM. It was the second race in a row where certain of those riders were penalised for the same sins! Pullen’s Husqvarna bounced back to take the second race from Frost’s KTM and van Schoor, who took the day from Smit, Cooper, Frost and Husqvarna kids Sven Larsen and Christopher Brindley.

Aiden Retief’s KTM and Trenton Kretzmann on a Husqvarna each won a baby 50cc MX race and also took a third each to see them share maximum points on the day, just a point clear of double second on the day, Brody Bircher’s KTM. Casper van Zyl wound up fourth on a KTM ahead of Rayden Woolls’ Gas Gas and Husqvarna lightie Lou Rademeyer.

The third round of the championship follows at Phakisa in Welkom in the Free State on Saturday 22 May. The 2021 South African National Motocross Championship is proudly presented by Motorsport South Africa in partnership with Cannabis Energy Drink, TRP Distributors, Prepsol, Bridgestone, Thor, Gaerne, FMF, Pro Taper, 100%, Fly Racing, Ogio, Bandit Graffix and the Race Shop.

Issued on behalf of SA Motocross

Photography by: Ruben Louw

Leave a Reply