What South African National Motocross Round 4 Preview
Where Thunder Valley, Pietermaritzburg
When Saturday 28 August 2021
Community South Africa National

Cannabis Energy TRP SA MX battle resumes in ‘Maritzburg

The Cannabis Energy Drink and TRP Distributors South African National Motocross Championship is finally back on track as the series finally heads for Thunder Valley in Pietermaritzburg for its long awaited fourth round on Saturday 28 August. The weekend’s race takes over from a round originally scheduled for July, before a reshuffled 2021 calendar returns on the three originally planned dates through to the end of the season.

The focus will be squarely on double open class SA Motocross championship leader Tristan Purdon and his Red Bull KTM in Maritzburg. Purdon has won five and finished second in the sixth 450cc MX1 moto so far this season. He leads that first race winner, Rockstar Energy Drink Husqvarna man David Goosen by 14 points. Anthony Raynard sits third on his Yamaha with KTM trio Jesse Wright, Cross Country star Bradley Cox and Johan Vogelsang next up.

Purdon also leads his Red Bull KTM teammate Cameron Durow by eleven points in the quarter litre Moto2 chase with David Goosen’s Rockstar Husqvarna third ahead of Yamaha duo, champion Anthony Raynard and Dalton Venter’s Yamahas.

Grant Frerichs on a Yamaha and Dwayne Kleynhans’ KTM are fighting it out for over-30s honours in MX3 with Calvin Gloster and Ryan Frerichs in chase. Another Yamaha man, Ian Topliss’ Yamaha is in charge among the over-40s ahead of Honda duo Bruce Viljoen and Phillip Harker and Byron Linaker’s Yamaha.

The battle of the season has to be the South African Ladies Motocross title fight where Leah Heygate’s KTM and reigning champion Kayla Raaff on a Kawasaki remain tied on 141 points. The de Lima sisters Jadene and Cheyenne are next up ahead of Kawasaki lass Dakota Grobbellaar.

In the junior ranks, Jonathan Mlimi’s KTM has a handy 14 point 125cc High School advantage over Ethan Hoffman’s Yamaha with KTM kid Miguel de Waal in hot pursuit en route to KZN. Luke Grundy, Callan Broskie, Lukas Venter and Nathan Mayberry’s Husqvarnas and Leonard du Toit, Stav Orland and Blake Young’s KTMs are also worth keeping an eye on there.

KTM lad Trey Cox, Husqvarna rider Jordan van Wyk and Emmanuel Bako’s Gas Gas are split by three points in the 85cc Pro Mini title chase. 65cc champion Neil van der Vyver will want to win more races there though and don’t ignore Alon Orland’s KTM or Husqvarna kids Wiaan du Plooy, and Liam Botha either.

Five points split KTM kids Tyler Petersen and Matthew Correia in the 85cc Junior chase, with KTM riders Trent Valsecchi, Andrew Venter, Andrea Mynhardt and Trent Valsecchi in chase.

Blade Tilley’s Gas Gas has a ten point 65cc Junior advantage over Blake Frost’s KTM with Aiden Henley’s Yamaha and Jack Pullen and Nicol Smit’s Husqvarnas in chase. Also watch for Trent Valsecchi and Evan Frost on KTMs Husqvarna lads Sven Larsen and Christopher Brindley.

Trenton Kretzmann’s Husqvarna leads the SA kindergarten 50cc Motocross title by 22 points over KTM kid Aiden Retief and Rayden Woolls’ Gas Gas. Also watch for Brody Bircher and Casper van Zyl’s KTMs, Cobra rider Maxwell Fourie and Husqvarna trio Luke van As, Lou Rademeyer and Josh Peters-Newman.

The 2021 South African National Motocross Championship began at Terra Topia in Gauteng before heading to Rover in Nelson Mandela Bay in April and Phakisa, Welkom in May. This weekend’s KZN fourth round will be followed by a round at Chestnut Park in Gauteng on 18 September, before heading to Bloemfontein on 23 October and then it’s back to Gauteng for the final at Legends Motocross Park.

With lesser lockdown measures still in force, spectators remain banned at sporting events. You can still follow the SA Motocross action via live streaming on the MX Nationals South Africa Facebook page.

The 2021 South African National Motocross Championship is proudly presented by Motorsport South Africa in partnership with Cannabis Energy Drink, TRP Distributors, Prepsol, Bridgestone, Thor, Gaerne, FMF, Pro Taper, 100%, Fly Racing, Ogio, Bandit Graffix and the Race Shop.

Issued on behalf of SA Motocross

Photography by: Ruben Louw

Leave a Reply